Contact Information

Surat, Gujarat, India

We Are Available 24/ 7. Call Now.

India is set to begin its two-year tenure as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). The event will be marked by the installation of the Indian tricolour at the stakeout during a special ceremony.

Ambassador TS Tirumurti, India’s Permanent Representative to the UN will install the tricolour during the special ceremony on Monday. The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) took to Twitter to share a video of top officers speaking about India’s approach and priorities for the UNSC.

In an exclusive interview to India Today, Ambassador TS Tirumurti had said that India will aggressively push for UN reforms during its tenure while also focusing on a “human-centric” approach. India will also use the opportunity to continue its sustained campaign against terrorism and sponsors of terror, Ambassador Tirumurti had added.

Apart from India, Norway, Kenya, Ireland and Mexico are also poised to join the UNSC as non-permanent members. Other non-permanent members of the key UN body include Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam. The UNSC has five permanent members, namely China, Russia, France, the UK and the US.

Since the presidency of the UNSC is held by each of the members in turn for one month, India will preside over the council as UNSC President in August 2021 and again in 2022.

It was Kazakhastan that first introduced the flag installation ceremony in 2018. The tradition was unanimously accepted by all 15 UNSC members as an annual ceremony of the Security Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *